UN General Assembly

Third Committee of the General Assembly – Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Issues

The General Assembly (GA) is the only body of the UN where every Member States has the same power, they are all represented according to the “one State, one voice” pattern. It is a unique place of discussion with 193 Member States, debating on peace, security, international law, and many other topics.

The Assembly is empowered to make recommendations to States on international issues within its competence. The GA is divided in six committees that work on the agenda topics they are concerned with. The Third Committee is dedicated to Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Issues.

Important issues related to social development, women empowerment, child protection, or indigenous rights are tackled in this Committee. Rennes session will certainly contribute to a better protection of every human being on Earth.

UNGA topics

The study guide for UNGA is available here.

Countries sitting on this committee:

  • Colombia
  • Nicaragua
  • Mexico
  • El Savador
  • Peru
  • Bolivia
  • Ecuador
  • Paraguay
  • Chile
  • South Africa
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Kenya
  • Uganda
  • Rwanda
  • Ethiopia
  • Lesotho
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Belgium
  • Finland
  • Ukraine
  • France
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • United States of America
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • Philippines
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • India
  • Turkey
  • Myanmar
  • Thailand
  • Laos
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israël
  • Afghanistan
  • Pakistan
  • Lebanon



One thought on “UN General Assembly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s