World Health Organization (WHO)

The World Health Organization is an agency of the United Nations for public health. It was created in 1948 and its headquarters are located in Geneva, Switzerland. Currently, 194 states are members of the organization, which is also represented across the world thanks to its 150 offices.

The organization strives to combat and eradicate diseases whereas they are communicable like tuberculosis, ebola and HIV or not, like cancer and heart diseases. Its goal is to bring life expectancy higher on a global level, and make everyone have access to safe food, water, as well as air, medicine and vaccines. The WHO is also focusing on promoting occupational health, sports and preventing substance abuse.

The WHO Assembly meets every year. It legislates to coordinate government efforts on health matters with civil society organizations, foundations and the private sector. The decisions and policies decided by the Assembly are implemented by an Executive Board composed of experts who are highly qualified in health matters. The WHO has since its creation proved its effectiveness and high influence, as demonstrates for example the role it played in eradicating smallpox. The WHO is ready to tackle new global health stakes in Rennes once again during the upcoming session.

Countries (31):

  • United States,
  • Germany,
  • Turkey,
  • Greece,
  • Egypt,
  • Pakistan,
  • France,
  • Spain,
  • Sweden,
  • Vietnam,
  • Poland,
  • Japan,
  • China,
  • Brazil,
  • Chile,
  • Saudi Arabia,
  • Soudan,
  • Nigeria,
  • Togo,
  • the Russian Federation,
  • India,
  • Argentina,
  • Australia,
  • Algeria,
  • the United Kingdom,
  • Albania,
  • Czech Republic,
  • Somalia,
  • Colombia,
  • South Korea,
  • Hungary.