UN Security Council (UNSC)

The UN Security Council was created in 1945 at the same time as the United Nations, in the idea of addressing the failings of the League of Nations in maintaining world peace, after the Second World War. It is one of the main organs of the UN.

From the beginning, five permanent members were designated: the French Republic, the People’s Republic of China, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America. In addition, ten non-permanent members are elected by the General Assembly for a 2-years mandate. Each member has one vote. The five permanent states also have the ability to veto a resolution. The United Nations Security Council recommends a candidate for the seat of Secretary General of the UN to the General Assembly and takes part in the election of the International Court of Justice judges.

It has the responsibility of peacekeeping in the world. All member states are obligated to comply with the Security Council’s decisions and it can resort to imposing sanctions or even authorizing the use of force. May you use the Council’s crucial influence during the sessions in Rennes to enhance the world’s stability and help parties to a conflict settle disputes.

Countries (15) :

  • Albania,
  • Brazil,
  • China,
  • France,
  • Gabon,
  • Ghana,
  • India,
  • Ireland,
  • Kenya,
  • Mexico,
  • Norway,
  • Russian Federation,
  • United Arab Emirates,
  • the United Kingdom,
  • the United States.