The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, is an agency of the UN based in Paris, France. The UNESCO was born in response to the Second World War events, after world leaders realized that intolerance and racism had provoked conflicts and human right violations on an unprecedented scale.

Hence, the mandate of the UNESCO is summed up by his phrase of its constitution: “Since wars begin in the minds of men and women, it is in the minds of men and women that the defences of peace must be constructed.” The UNESCO seeks to bring peace thanks to enhancing global cooperation in culture, science and education, and to building worldwide solidarity between people.

The organization has lead significant projects including the promotion of literacy, of independent media and freedom of the press, of cultural diversity, translations of world literature, securing of the world’s cultural and natural heritage and teacher-training programs.

The General Conference of the UNESCO meets every two years. Each country has one vote, irrespective of its size or the extent of its contribution to the budget. The General Conference determines the policies and the main lines of work of the Organization and the budget of UNESCO.

Countries (30):

  • China,
  • Japan,
  • South Korea,
  • Syria,
  • Egypt,
  • Venezuela,
  • Colombia,
  • France,
  • Italy,
  • Saudi Arabia,
  • Emirates,
  • United States,
  • Canada,
  • Germany,
  • Turkey,
  • Yemen,
  • the Democratic Republic of Congo,
  • Sudan
  • India,
  • the Russian Federation,
  • the United Kingdom,
  • Spain,
  • Austria,
  • Brazil,
  • Ethiopia,
  • Hungary,
  • Austria,
  • Argentina,
  • Greece,
  • Iran.