The UN General AssemBly (UNGA)

The UN Environment Assembly was created in 2012, after the call for UN Environment Programme to be strengthened and upgraded during the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (RIO+20).

The United Nations Environment Assembly is now the world’s highest-level decision-making body on the environment. It addresses the critical environmental challenges facing the world today. The aims of the reunions are to set priorities for global environmental policies and to develop international environmental law.

The UN Environment Assembly is the governing body of the UN Environment Programme and is composed of 193 Member States. It meets every two years, or at any time needed when a special session is requested.

The previous sessions of the UN Environment Assembly have adopted resolutions on major issues such as illegal trade in wildlife, air quality, environmental rule of law, financing the Green Economy, and many more. Let’s see what decisive agreement will be made during the 2019 session in Rennes!

  • TOPIC A: The impact of climate change on populations
  • TOPIC B: Integrated management of the oceans and marine biodiversity


UNEA topics

The study guide for UNEA is available here.

Countries sitting on this committee:

  • Norway
  • France
  • Netherlands
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Peru
  • Brazil
  • Fiji
  • Mauritius
  • Haiti
  • Ethiopia
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Tunisia
  • Botswana
  • India
  • China
  • Jordan
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Bangladesh
  • New Zealand
  • Philippines
  • Indonesia