UN Environment Assembly (UNEA)

The UN Environment Assembly was created in 2012, after the call for UN Environment Programme to be strengthened and upgraded during the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (RIO+20). It is the governing body of the UN Environment Programme and is composed of 193 Member States. It meets every two years, or at any time needed when a special session is requested.

The Environment Assembly embodies a new era in which the environment is one of the international community’s main priorities and is given the same level of importance as issues such as peace, poverty, health and security. The United Nations Environment Assembly is now the world’s highest-level decision-making body on the environment. The aims of the reunions are to set priorities for global environmental policies and to develop international environmental law.

The Third Environment Assembly took place in Nairobi 4-6 December 2017 under the overarching theme “Towards a pollution-free planet”. The Assembly addressed five sub-themes: Water Pollution, Land Pollution, Marine Pollution, Air Pollution, and Sound Management of Chemicals and Waste. The Assembly in Rennes will surely bring more solutions and great progress for our planet’s protection.

Countries (30) :

  • China,
  • France,
  • the United States,
  • the United Kingdom,
  • Germany,
  • Japan,
  • the Netherlands,
  • the Russian Federation,
  • Bangladesh,
  • India,
  • Philippines,
  • Nigeria,
  • Thailand,
  • Costa Rica,
  • Brazil,
  • Qatar,
  • Portugal,
  • Australia,
  • United Arab Emirates,
  • Mexico,
  • South Africa,
  • Chile,
  • Sri Lanka,
  • Sweden,
  • Romania,
  • Uganda,
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of),
  • Jordan,
  • Democratic Republic of Congo,
  • Turkey.