UN Security Council


Security Council

The Security Council gathers 15 members and takes important decisions regarding international peace and security by authorising interventions from the UN in the field. Moreover, the Security Council recommends a candidate for the post of Secretary General of the United Nations to the Assembly General and it participates in the election of the judges of the International Court of Justice.

Each member has one vote. Five states have a permanent seat and the ability to veto a resolution: the French Republic, the People’s Republic of China, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America. The other members change every two years in accordance with regional quotas.

The Security Council is definitely the most powerful organ of the United Nations.

Topic 1: The Yemeni Civil War

The civil war between the Houthis, supported by the partisans of the former President Saleh, and the government of Hadi, elected in 2012 following the Yemeni revolution, is getting more and more bogged down as the international community struggles to find a resolution to the crisis. Saudi Arabia has led a coalition since 2015 in support of President Hadi, but it has done nothing but increase the destruction in a very unstable and fragile country. The Security Council has passed several resolutions on the matter but today it is fundamental that real solutions are found, especially to deal with the humanitarian crisis, which is deepening a bit more every day.

Topic 2: Tackling the threat of non-State military actors

The main threat faced by the international community today is the development of non-State military actors, such as terrorist groups, that endanger the safety of citizens by attacking vulnerable strategic points around the globe. This worldwide problem concerns every state and this is why the Security Council is the main actor able to actually develop a global policy to reduce the influence and the damage caused by the development of such groups.

The countries represented in this committee are the following :

  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • People’s Republic of China
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • France
  • Kazakhstan
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Russian Federation
  • Saudi Arabia (Observer State)
  • Senegal
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay