GA First Committee (DISEC)

7684528666_31bba789bd_oGeneral Assembly: First Committee – Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC)

The First Committee of the United Nations General Assembly takes place in New York every autumn and is in charge of dealing with issues related to disarmament, weapons of mass destruction, conventional and unconventional weapons, as well as matters regarding outer space, cybersecurity and drones.

Its work consists in debating and adopting resolutions that will later be used by the General Assembly.

Topic 1: Preventing cyberattacks and reinforcing global cybersecurity

The fight against terrorism is not limited to war in the field but should also be considered as a whole different type of field: cyberspace. The Islamic State, along with many other organisations, use the Internet regularly to perform cyberattacks or to recruit individuals. If the international community, and especially the IAEA, is aware of these threats, a global response has not yet been found. This is where your work begins delegates!

Topic 2: Strengthening limitations on the use of lethal autonomous weapon systems

Lethal autonomous weapon systems (LAWS) are weapons able to localise, identify and neutralise a target without any human intervention. This debate, while still theoretical as such weapons are not yet a reality, is being discussed within the international community in order to create a juridical framework for the use of such weapons. One key issue is also for states to agree upon a common definition of these devices, as a consensus has still not been reached today.

The countries represented in this committee are the following :

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Belarus
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • People’s Republic of China
  • Cuba
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Italy
  • Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Republic of Korea
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Myanmar
  • Nicaragua
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Qatar
  • Russian Federation
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Ukraine
  • United States of America
  • Viet Nam