The Disarmament and International Security Committee

The Disarmament and International Security Committee

Topic 1: Preventing an arms race in outer space

Since the beginning of the conquest of space since the 1950’s, at the midst of the Cold War, the United Nations have worked to prevent militarization and weaponization of space. The first treaty, signed in 1957, prohibits the use of space for military purposes. It forbids the placement of nuclear weapons or any kind of weapons in space. Since then, efforts have continuously been made to maintain it as a peaceful zone.

The aim of this committee will be to define new agreements between all the Member States concerned by this issue. Indeed, with the multiplication of space programs developed by countries, these multilateral treaties must be reviewed in order to prevent any arms race in outer space.

Topic 2: Regulating the use of unconventional weapons

The term unconventional weapons is partly referring to Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD), which include chemical, biological, radioactive, and nuclear weapons (CBRN). Weapons of Mass Destruction are defined as weapons with the capacity to inflict death and destruction on such a massive scale and so indiscriminately that its very presence in the hands of a hostile power can be considered a grievous threat. If the Member States of the United Nations have worked towards the adoption of numerous conventions with the aim of limiting their possession and use, recent events have shown that a stricter regulation must be applied. Furthermore, terrorist groups must be prevented from obtaining and/or producing weapons of mass destruction.

In addition to WMDs, unconventional weapons also refer to any weapons that are not under the control of international conventions, but which use is a considerable threat to international or regional stability. For instance, cyber attacks can be considered as such.

Thus, the aim of this committee will be to enhance existing treaties and agreements regarding the use and the possession of WMDs, but also to create a legal framework for new possible threats to international security.

List of countries (27)

Permanent members of the security council (5)

  • The United States of America
  • The Federation of Russia
  • The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • France
  • People’s Republic of China

Africa (3)

  • South Africa
  • Algeria
  • Egypt

Asia (12)

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • Syria
  • Taïwan
  • Turkey

Europe (3)

  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Ukraine

America (4)

  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • Mexico
  • Canada

How to apply


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s