African Union


African Union

The African Union is a regional organisation established in 2001: its objective is promoting solidarity and unity between African states. It replaced the Organisation for African Unity (established in 1963) and today gathers 54 countries in the same forum.

The current African Union is a very well-developed organisation as it gathers many organs dedicated to different matters, a court of justice, financial institutions and technical committees. Nevertheless the Assembly is its most important organ, which is why it will be simulated in this edition of the SPRIMUN.

The African Union is based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Topic 1: Reforming and strengthening the African Stand-by Force

The African Stand-by Force was created in 2002 following multiple regional conflicts that led the African Union to pool military forces in view of common security goals. The Force is divided between five regional brigades. However, each regional brigade does not have the same level of development. Since its creation, the African Stand-by Force has not been able to reach its full operational capabilities and was not ready to be used as a peacekeeping force in recent Central African conflicts.

The aim of this committee is to strengthen the organisation of the African Stand-by Force by providing definitions and new boundaries for the use of such a force. New tools and reforms will have to be implemented by every State of this committee so as to provide credibility to the African Stand-by Force.

Topic 2: Enforcing food security in the African Union

The focus on agriculture in Africa allowed for millions of African citizens to gain access to sufficient food security. Though many successes have been achieved in strengthening food security in Africa, much is yet to be done. Food production is still threatened by poor infrastructure and vulnerability to extreme weather events. In sub-Saharan Africa, the rate of undernourishment is almost at 25 per cent.

This committee must enforce food security in Africa in accordance with the Sustainable Development Goals and must make sure that every country in the Union agrees to put together clear steps to invest and support to farmers in order to fulfil the basic needs of their citizens.

The countries represented in this committee are the following :

  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zimbabwe